issei sugimoto

Issei Ambo, or better known as Issei Sugimoto, is still working in the
world music doing many projects. During his period in WANDS, he composed a song called ”With My Best Wishes“, which was an instrumental song made with only guitar melodies. This song was released in a compilation album called ”Guitar Monster Vol.2“ (There is a Vol.1 too) where famous Japanese guitarists composed instrumental songs. This CD was released on September 13th 1997.
After the disbandment of WANDS in 2000, Issei used to be a support guitarist for the artists Fayray and Mai Kuraki. In 2003 he became a member of the band flow-war (its previous name was flower) and released 3 singles and 1 album with them. When flow-war disbanded in 2004, the singer of the band and Issei formed a band called CANDYMAN. They released 1 album, 2 singles and 2 live DVDs. When they disbanded in 2009, Issei formed a new band called LIT-HUM which hasn’t released anything yet, but created some demo songs and produced many artists like Crush Tears and Shinsengumi Lien and partedipated to the production of the song ”For Your Smile“ sang by Live Stand Boys, a group of three boys formed in occasion of the Live Stand event in 2009. On December 24th 2009, LIT-HUM made a concert called ”FLUCTUATION“ playing some covers, some WANDS songs and some original stuff.
Then he worked with clear, a japanese male singer of Nico Nico Douga and made some live sessions with him.
On March 28th 2011 he made a concert at MeguroLIVE STATION with Jiro Waku, who was invited as Secret Guest Vocalist.

Personal Compositions

  • ”with my best wishes“


  • KOTO (”hokkyokusei-The Polestar-“) [He appears in the PV too]
  • gulff (”Kaze No Megami“)
  • SHALE APPLE (”Sora Furu -niji wo kakero-“, ”Kimi No Koe/Orenji“, ”Niton Bocchi No Kimi E/Taisetsu Na Kotoba“, ”Sora Sora Jaku Jaku“)
  • navy&ivory (”Koibito/NEWS“)
  • Shinsengumi Lien (”Otokomichi“, ”Ai No Uta“, ”Joukyou Monogatari“, ”LIVE DVD(2010 FIRST TOUR Joukyou Monogatari)“, ”Iroito“)
  • U-ya Asaoka (”Uta Wa Tobira Wo Akete Yuku“)
  • RYOEI (”Buugenbiria“, ”Shima Kaze -yume rai nin no uta-“, ”Tingara“)
  • clear (”Dearest“, ”Kawaranu Omoi“, ”Shining“, ”Dearest II“)
  • WILL (”jealkb“)
  • RINO (”Super Lady/Call me“)
  • Crush Tears (”Senko No Mataki“, ”Communication Breakdown“, ”I“)
  • Live Stand Boys (”For Your Smile“)
  • Sonomi Tameoka
  • Akari Monzen (”Negai Hitotsu/ may/day“)
  • Yamai(KANAN), Dasoku X Hasu, Erushi (”e? aa, sou.“)
  • Yurika/Hanatan (”Flower Drops“)
  • Beach Boys (”Beach Boys“)
  • Various Artists (”Illusion Garden“ [Saint Seiya THE LOST CANVAS Meio Shinwa])
  • LIGHT BRINGER (”noah“, ”genesis“)
  • √5 (”MARRY GO ROUND“)
  • Clementine x OSTER project (”Mahoutsukai No Shokoratie ~Le Chocolatier enchante'~“)
  • Super Sonico (”SONICONICOROCK Tribute To VOCALOID“)
  • Takehara Pisutoru To Mizuno Yuusuke To Houmiitaitsu (”Takefuusen Gamu“)
  • - (”Ikaros-kun No Uta“)

Support member for:

  • Fayray
  • Mai Kuraki
  • Clear
  • Maiya
  • U-ya Asaoka

Discography in flow-war

  • ID (single - November 12th 2003)
  • Nigeru Basho Nante Nai (single - February 18th 2004)
  • ID (album - June 3rd 2004)
  • Mitsumeteitai (single - April 28th 2004)

Discography in CANDYMAN

  • Fatman (single - 2006)
  • CANDYMAN the movie - Season 1 - ”Live Live Live“ (DVD - 2006)
  • mt Needle (single - 2007)
  • CANDYMAN the movie - Season 2 - ”2nd Single Reko Hatsu & Hobo 2 Shuunen TOUR“ (DVD - 2007)
  • Laughingstock (album - 2008)

Songs in LIT-HUM

  • Rakuyou
  • Suicide To Another (DEMO)
  • Field Of Honor (DEMO)
  • Fuyu No Hana
  • Hitogoto (DEMO)
  • About You (DEMO)


  • Sadowsky TYO
  • Varita VLR-075 ST
  • Sadowsky JT-VE II (He calls it ”Blacky“)
  • Ibanez PGM300WH (He calls it ”PGM“)
  • Ibanez JEM7VWH (He calls it ”JEM“)
  • Sadowky TokyoS (He calls it ”Yellow“)
  • Gibson Les Paul Custom
  • Fender Stratocaster
  • Fernandes ZO-3

Some interesting links